Alaska State Psychology License Requirement


alaska state psychology license requirementAfter obtaining the degree in related field, you are required to apply for licensure to practice in state of Alaska. This is Alaska state psychology license requirement to pass national and/or state and fulfill other requirements that are mentioned below:


  • A master’s level degree in counseling.
  • 3000 hours of professional experience, completed over a span of 2 years, under supervision. This includes minimum of 1,000 hours of direct counseling with families, couples, individuals and/or groups and minimum 100 hours of direct supervision.
  • Pass the 200-item multiple-choice eNational Counselor Examination (NCE) by National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC)

Relationship and Family Therapist

  • A master’s level degree in marriage and family therapy.
  • 1500 hours of immediate clinical contact with groups, families and/or couples. This includes supervision for at least of 200 hours, both working as an individual and as a group.
  • Pass a written exam comprise of questions about Alaska state regulations related to the code of ethics and the practice of marriage and family therapy
  • Pass MFT exam by Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards


  • A doctoral level degree in psychology.
  • 1500 hours of actual supervised work experience that is completed within 10 to 24 months. This includes direct contact with patients. Supervision must be done by a licensed psychologist.
  • Pass a written exam about Alaska’s State Law and Ethics.
  • Pass the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP)

Social Worker

  • A master’s level degree.
  • 3000 hours of supervised post-degree professional experience in social work area within two years
  • Pass the national exam by Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB)

Licensure Requirements by All States


Pin It on Pinterest

You found this content helpful?

Let's share this piece of information with your friends!